jump to navigation

Mogwai (Gremlins) == Chinchillas? 2006 August 8

Posted by Lily in Uncategorized.
trackback

So as you may or may not know, last week I helped my friends R., B., and L. move. As a thank you present, they took me out to dinner where we had the following conversation:

Me: I just read an article where they discovered that chinchillas were the only animals aside from humans and Grey Parrots who can clearly separate a and u sounds, as well as generalize them to other speakers — despite changes in pitch and intensity. I think that’s about all they have in common, though. Aside from the whole flying thing, it turns out chillas don’t like water as much as birds: their fur is so thick that it doesn’t dry, and they get mold on their skin.

B.: Wow, they really are Gremlins.

Me: What?

B.: You know the movie Gremlins?

Me: All I remember is that it gave me nightmares when I was a kid. Why?

B.: You’re completey describing them. They’re intelligent, they have big ears that stay up on their own, you can’t get them wet, you can’t put them in direct sunlight — the only thing that’s missing is feeding them after midnight, no matter how much they beg.

I think he’s right:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gremlins
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinchillas

chinchilla-white-032206-1.jpggre_12.jpg

Comments»

1. schooled - 2006 August 10

eep. Gremlins was a little before my time too, but I remember just enough of them to have an eery flashback. I’ve never really understood chinchillas–are they rats? rabbits? mutant squirrels? I like how the females are bigger though. >:D

2. Lily - 2006 August 10

Technically, they’re in the rodent family. However, they look like a cross between a squirrel and a rabbit (which is why my one chin is named “Squabbit”), and they’re not nearly as intelligent as rats are. Their social behavior also isn’t as human-like as rats’ — they’re a hell of a lot nicer.

What confuses me is that they look almost exactly like pikas, but pikas are technically lagomorphs. I think some zoologist somewhere just got pissy about the idea that his beloved pet bunny was technically a rodent of unusual size, and once he made tenure he decided to change it.

3. schooled - 2006 August 10

“rodents of unusual size”

lol. reminds me of The Princess Bride. Maybe the RUS’s were giant chinchillas!

4. nicolasix - 2006 August 13

I love Chinchillas! They’re so cute. Although they can be spastic, which alarms me.

But they aren’t nearly as vicious as those ROUSes.

Which reminds me…Cary Elwes was sooooooooo hot when he was younger.

5. Marilou Gaarsland - 2013 January 10

my girlfriend has a pet chinchilla and they kinda look very cute and adorable in my opinion.’

Most up-to-date posting straight from our very own internet site
<a href=" http://www.foodsupplemendigest.com/curcumin-benefits/


Leave a Reply

